Astringent/Toners

VLCC Punarnava Astringent- Review

Hi All,
Cleansing,  Toning,  Moisturizing or CTM  is an important part of my daily routine.   I can’t afford to skip toner as I have combination to oily skin which is prone to acne and open pores.  I keep on trying different toners and this is how I bought VLCC Punarnava Astringent from Nykaa. It’s meant for normal to oily skin.  I have been using this for the past one month and it’s time for me to review it.

image

What VLCC says:
Detoxifies and controls oil secretion… Unique astringent enriched with the natural goodness of Almond, Lemon, Honey and Aloe Vera extracts deep cleans, tones and refreshes the skin.  Helps in tightening pores and also works as an antiseptic astringent thereby preventing breakout of pimples in oily skin.”
image

Price:-
Rs.  140/- for 100 ml
How to Use:-
After cleansing, apply VLCC Punarnava Astringent with moist cotton all over face and neck.”
image

My Take on the Product:-
The astringent comes in white colored plastic bottle which is packed in a white cardboard box. Complete description about the astringent is mentioned on the outer box as well as on the bottle. It also comes with a small leaflet which explains how the astringent is to be used.  The bottle comes with flip top cap.  Nothing fancy about the packaging but I have no issues with that.
image

image

List of ingredients

The astringent is green in color and it claims to have extracts of lemon,  almond,  aloe vera along with honey.   It has a very herbal fragrance and I quite like it.
I use it the way it is mentioned on the bottle. The astringent definitely controls the oil secretion especially on my Tzone and has prevented breakout of pimples.  But sadly does not help in tightening the open pores.

image
Green color... (made my dad take the astringent in his hand:-)))

The major issue with this astringent is, if you take more than 5-6 drops, your skin starts burning.  Even the eyes start watering. So I take just 2-3 drops not more than that and it works well.  I wouldn’t recommend this to sensitive skin girls.   Also dry skinned beauties can stay away from this.  Only if you have combination to oily skin you can try this astringent.
To Sum Up:-
Pros:-
1. Not expensive.
2. Prevents breakouts.
3. Controls oil secretion.
3. Little quantity is required.
4. I like the herbal fragrance.
Cons:-
1. Did nothing to my open pores.
2. Skin and eyes burn if more than 2-3 drops are used.
3. Not at all meant for sensitive skin.
MFL Ratings:-
3/5
Overall an average astringent meant only for combination to oily skin.  If you have oily skin you can give it a shot.
Do share which toner/astringent you use?
Take care
Cya Soon.

Leave a comment